Nigeria's foremost Online Energy News Platform

House Ad-Hoc C’ttee On Crude Oil Theft Set For Inquest January 29 – 31

*Frowns at defaulters

-By Saidu Abubakar

The Federal House of Representatives Ad-Hoc Committee on Crude Oil Theft in Nigeeia has resolved to take the bull by the horn, with an investigative hearing scheduled to hold from 29th – 31st of January at the National Assembly complex in Abuja.

Valuechain Magazine gathered that the committee, through its chairman, Rt. Hon. Peter O. Akpatason mni, has invited various categories of stakeholders to present memoranda during the period of the hearing slated for 11am prompt.

The chairman who happens to be the Deputy House Leader also said in an announcement that the ad-hoc committee is requesting for memorandum from government agencies, organisations, interest groups, general public, stakeholders and host communities.

The investigative hearing is scheduled to hold at the Conference Room 034, Federal House of Representatives, New Wing, National Assembly Complex, Abuja, according to an announcement.

The committee specifically invited experts submissions from the Honourable Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning; Honourable Minister of Environment; the Auditor-General of the Federation, the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) as well as the Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR), among others.

The committee further frowned at, and listed stakeholders that have refused to respond to its request for memorandum, even after Mr. Speaker had graciously granted an extension of time at their request.

This, the committee said, was a constitutional violation, as well as violation of the Standing Order of the House of Representatives and other relevant laws of the Federation.

Some of the defaulters, according to the committee chairman, include the NNPC, NPDC, PTDF, PEF, NPA and NIMASA, among numerous others.

The committee said it has given till 21st of January 2020, to the defaulters to make submissions after which it (committee) is at liberty to invoke necessary Legislative instruments to compel compliance.

Submisaions, the committee added, in 30 hard copies and one in soft copy, should reach its Secretariat at office No.246, National Assembly Complex, Abuja on or before Tuesday 21st January, 2020.