Nigeria's foremost Online Energy News Platform

Excitement as Davido, Olamide Drop Studio Albums

-By Adeniyi Onifade

Nigerians all over were thrown into wide excitement as two strong pillars of contemporary music, David Adeleke and Olamide Adedejoi dropped their studio albums.

The duo are said to have dominated the Nigerian music scene in the last decade, serving music lovers with marvellous tunes at events and other social activities.
David Adeleke, Nigerian Afropop singer better known as Davido, released his long-awaited studio album ‘A Good Time’ featuring renowned artistes in the music space.

‘A Good Time’ featured seventeen tracks, with ten of the songs being solo works of Davido, while the other seven were collaborative efforts with a rich selection of local and international talents.

The collaborations featured Popcaan, Peruzzi, Zlatan, Naira Marley, WurlD, Summer Walker, Chris Brown, Gunna, Dremo, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie and Yonda. While prominent music producers on the album include Shizzi, Kiddominant, Speroach Beatz, Tekno, etc.

However, fans have continued to shower accolades on Davido for making the album worth the wait, with hilarious reactions on the track with controversial rapper Naira Marley.

The 17-track body of work, which comes as a follow-up to ‘Omo Baba Olowo’, his 2012 album and ‘Son of Mercy’, his 2016 EP, was released days after the singer had released its tracklist dedicated to Veronica Adeleke, his late mother.

Among the tracks in the new project are ‘Check Am’, ‘Disturbance’, ‘D&G’, ‘Get to You’, ‘Green Light Riddim’, ‘Sweet in the Middle’, ‘Animashaun’, ‘Blow My Mind’, ‘One Thing’, ‘Big Picture’, ‘Company’ and ‘Fall’.

Among the artistes featured on the album are Chris Brown, an American R&B singer; Popcaan, a Jamaican dancehall deejay; Peruzzi; Zlatan Ibile; Naira Marley, Nigerian street singer; Wurld, Dremo, among others.

Ever since Davido had his big break into Nigeria’s music industry, he has made impressive career strides, earned heavy praises and garnered himself a deluge of ever-loyal fans.

He had, before calling Chris Brown for ‘Blow My Mind‘, a track off ‘A Good Time’ affirmed that his forthcoming project would enlist the likes of Quavo, Meek Mill, Migos, Justin Bieber, Lil Baby, among other big names in the music space.

Similarly, Olamide Adedeji, Nigerian rapper, has dropped his nine-track extended play titled ‘999’, a day after he fixed the project’s release date, in a move that broke the internet.

In January 2020, the Twittersphere had been abuzz minutes after the 30-year-old record label boss released the tracklist to the project he never teased.

‘999’ debuted as announced penultimate Monday, featuring a league of indigenous hip hop stars including Phyno, Rhatti, Show, Cheque, Jayboi, Sosa-E, and Jackwillz.

While the project is mixed and mastered by STG, ‘999’ is produced by Olamide, Cracker Mallo, Pheelz, Eskeez, and ID Cabasa.

Coming as Olamide’s tenth studio project, it includes tracks like ‘Warlord’, ‘Billion Talk’, ‘Dance with the Devil’, ‘Prophesy’, ‘Demons’, and ‘Rich + Famous’.

Olamide, who is popularly known as Baddo or BaddoSneh, released his debut studio album ‘Rapsodi’ in 2011, while he was still signed to Coded Tunes.

After his second studio album ‘YBNL’, he had debuted YBNL Nation, his independent label imprint, which has produced talented acts like Lil Kesh, Adekunle Gold, and Chinko Ekun.

Olamide has also won several awards for his role in advancing Nigeria’s hip hop culture.