Nigeria's foremost Online Energy News Platform

All set for 3rd Valuechain Annual Lecture/Awards

All is now set for the 3rd Valuechain Annual Lecture and Awards which will hold on Monday, 12 October, 2020 at Fraser Suites, Abuja. The theme of this year’s lecture is ‘The Role of Media in the Nigerian Petroleum Sector Reform and Investment’, and the Secretary-General of the African Petroleum Producers’ Organisation (APPO), Dr. Omar Farouk Ibrahim will be the Speaker.

This was contained in a release issued this afternoon by Alhaji Musa Bashir Usman, Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of the Valuechain Magazine.

The theme of the lecture, the release said, which is organized by the Valuechain Oil & Gas magazine was carefully chosen considering the current renewed efforts by government, both executive and legislature, to put in place a legal framework that will regulate the country’s oil and gas sector for optimum and efficient industry that will furthermore translate into attractive investment heaven for local and foreign investors.

It has been observed that the inability of the much-awaited Petroleum Industry Bill (PIB) which was conceived 20 years ago to be passed into law, was perhaps due to shortage of public awareness on the importance of the bill.

The awareness drive, which the media is supposed to spearhead, is what the lecture intends to bring to limelight considering the fact that the PIB was recently submitted to the National Assembly by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The media, more than never before, should amplify the importance of this very crucial bill that will, if passed into law, improve the government’s revenue generation drive especially, as the country faces another round of recession due to the effect of COVID-19 and other economic setbacks too numerous to mention.

The event is expected to have in attendance, top government functionaries from the petroleum industry, top media practitioners, public relation experts and chief executives of various oil and gas establishments.

The Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, His Excellency Chief Timipre Sylva is expected to be the special guest of honour, while the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Mallam Mele K. Kyari will be the Chairman of the occasion according to the release.

Other dignitaries expected at the event are the Honourable Minister of Water Resources, Engr. Suleiman Adamu, and the former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Dr. Aliyu Moddibo Umar.

It added that apart from the lecture, some notable Nigerians will be honoured with Award of Excellence for their contributions to the development of the oil and gas industry in Nigeria.

The Award recipients include: the Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, His Excellency Chief Timipre Sylva, the Group Chief Executive officer (GCEO) of Oilserv Group, Engr. Emeka Okwuosa, Former Group Executive Director, NNPC Alh. Aminu Baba-Kusa, and the Managing Director of Spectrum Engineering, Engr. (Dr) Abubakar Isa.

The event which is expected to commence by 10:30 am will be available for viewers on Zoom.